Started my new internship today!

chairI started my internship at MPF Conservation Center today. The business is run by Katie and Mitchell Powell. A couple of very nice furniture conservators who were willing to put up with me this Fall and teach me some tricks of the trade. I won’t be posting anything in detail as of yet because this blog is also part of my grade for my internship, so out of fear of posting inaccurate information, I won’t be posting more details until probably next week. That being said, I can’t wait to post what a great time I had on the internet!

Here is one of they many photos I took of my project for this term: an Imperial Monterey-style chair. I know! Imperial.  Must mean it’s fancy and sophisticated, right? Heh, well, it’s a little more complicated than that, but I’ll explain more next week.

My new supervisors are wonderful and interesting people. I really enjoyed working with them today and learning everything they had to tell me. I learned about some of the differences between European and American art conservation, the history of Monterey furniture which is interesting because the genre started because of the Western film industry (Western as in cowboys, not culture).

If you’d like to learn more about this awesome little business, here’s their website. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

