What I’ve Been Up To (Warning: Geeking out ahead…)

Merry Belated Christmas! If I had any sense of foresight, I probably would have made a really nice Christmas video well ahead of time and scheduled it on Christmas, but since I didn’t, but I hope you like this little speed-paint Christmas card I made!

Other than that, life has been pretty good to me! Got my grades back from Fall and found I made all A’s! Woo! I was really worried because I didn’t feel like that final in my Asian Art History class went all that great, but I guess that final grade begs to differ! ^_^ Yay!

I’m really happy with the loot I got this year too! I got a gift card to Blick, and some stuff that will help with my YouTube channel as well from my father and my boyfriend. My dad sent me a camera tripod with jacks for smartphones and iPads, which was pretty neat, and my boyfriend got me this really neat mic for my cartoon vlogs!

 

20161228_164608
Isn’t it cool?

Bleh. I’m not getting as much done as I’d like to this Christmas break. I do need to work on my animations more and keep playing with my Adobe products. I finally did some painting, which is good, and hey, I went ahead and made the nerdiest thing ever:

librarian
Asari Great Librarian

This is a kind of continuation of my Asari series, for those of you who haven’t seen my Asari Ballerina  piece I made this past Thanksgiving, asari a race of aliens from one of my favorite video games, Mass Effect. Since asari live longer than humans by hundreds of years, and were exposed to things such as music, art, and writing tens of thousands of years before any other alien race in the universe, they became well known for their art and philosophy. Since the character you play is a soldier though, you only really see them as soldiers, scientists, and strippers. I was inspired to make some pieces of asari in more Classical settings such as dance, libraries, sculpture, museums, etc.

When I was making the librarian piece, I remembered that I didn’t really remember seeing actual bound books in the game (there probably were, I just couldn’t think of any), and that by this point in the future, EVERYTHING would have been COMPLETELY digitized, then I remembered that lovely quote from Doctor Who (from, in my opinion, the saddest episode ever).

Leave a Reply

