The Van Gogh Project: An Introduction

Hey all you friendlies!

As we are coming to the end of January, I was fortunate enough to receive my first commission of the year: a copy of Vincent Van Gogh’s “Cafe Terrace at Night.”

van_gogh_-_terrasse_des_cafes_an_der_place_du_forum_in_arles_am_abend1
Image from Wikimedia Commons

Now, it’s really tempting to just look and think “Oh yeah, I can do that. Easy.” NO! I realized if you try to copy something, your own style and habits have a tenancy to take over. I really want to capture how Van Gogh did his brushstrokes, not how Ashley does hers.

This is going to be as much of an independent study as a painting. I’m going to research Van Gogh and the techniques he used to better understand the madman and his beautiful artwork. I will posting updates frequently on the matter, so stick around!

Leave a Reply

