He’s Not Gone. He’s Just Not Here Right Now.

Let’s see… last post was… MARCH 17TH ARE YOU SERIOUS??? HOLYCRAPWHATHAVEIBEENDOINGWITHMYSELF???

A lot. There was a lot that happened. I didn’t want to share any of the negative stuff, but it’s as much of a important part as what’s been going on. I’ll post a separate post for the happier stuff because there’s a lot of that too. Right now, I just want to make a post in memory of one of the best men to have ever existed on the planet.

 

Flyfishing
Fly Fishing from Wikipedia
Back in April, I lost my grandfather. He struggled with cancer for three years, and it seems that his cancer was just about gone, but it all came back with a vengeance. It shouldn’t have been sudden, but somehow it still felt so. Even he kept saying he wasn’t going to be around next year.

Last Christmas, we were watching Mel Brooks’ “Young Frankenstein.” In the opening scene, there’s a scene where a coffin opens up revealing a decayed corpse. Grandpa joked, “I’m going to look like that next Christmas!” Very funny, Grandpa. Very funny.

I don’t know if the next time I see this movie, I’ll laugh or cry. Probably both.

Now, my blog still deals primarily with conservation related topics, so as sad as my grandpa’s death was, there’s an interesting element regarding his death and burial.

Many years ago, Grandpa said that when he died, he wanted to be buried in a very specific way. He wanted to be buried with two sets of coins: one for the year he was born, and one for the year he died as well as with his Freemason apron. He wanted that for when archaeologists dig him up. My dad and I went to the coin shop, and we were able to get the coins from the year he was born. The funeral was nice. He was sent off with a 21 gun salute, as he was in the Navy.

Heh. As a young man, he had to choose between the Military or Juvenile Hall. I promise he wasn’t a bad youth, just hung out with the wrong crowd, that’s all.

So, there’s going to be a new art project in the works: A landscape with grandpa fly-fishing. I actually got a really nice frame from some friends of mine that I think will be perfect with it. 🙂

I miss him terribly, but I couldn’t be happier to have had him in my life. He was a great father for my mother, who did an amazing job raising me.


Leave a Reply

