I started a Patreon!

patreon

I started a Patreon a couple days ago!

For those of you who don’t know, Patreon is a website you can act as a “Patron” to an artist, gamer, filmmaker, musician, and other types of creators on a monthly basis. Now, you can fund somebody for a single month then cancel your pledge, but personally, I think they really need to consider doing just one-off donations. It’s silly that they don’t.

I’ve been wanting to start one of my own for a while, but finally buckled down and decided to do it. I think my plan to go to Florence next year really put instilled a sense of urgency.

I’m actually having a lot of fun with it too! I’m looking at the “goals” thing as kind of like a gaming achievement system. I currently have my first goal there for $16/per month for coffee, and when I reach that goal, I’m going to make a series of small paintings made from coffee. This would be a good thing for me too because over the last few weeks I’ve been nothing but school and work that I haven’t forced myself to make time to create art.

I don’t know if this will be a super successful thing, but it’s fun, and that’s the most important thing, I think.

I also started a YouTube channel where I want to put cartoon video blogs kind of like Domics, Vanimation, and theodd1soutcomic. But THAT’S not happening until after this Asian art history midterm. :/ Again, not expecting an overnight success, but it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a couple of years but never had the courage to.

 

Leave a Reply

